Why Turn Off Apps While on Vacation?

My daughter G and I recently took a mother/daughter vacation to New York City. We tried to take in as many sights as a leisurely week would allow. We had no schedule, no time table, and it was glorious.

One bit of advice I will pass along is to turn off your phone apps before depositing said phone in any pocket. Here’s why:

G and I were walking from Park Ave and 5th to the American Museum of Natural History on 80th and Central Park West. A pretty straight shot, but I used my Google Maps app to help navigate in fear of getting sidetracked talking and ending up at the Hudson River. For easy of retrieving the map, I just left Google Maps on and clicked the screen off before depositing my phone in the back pocket of my mom capris.

I assumed that would work for me because it has worked for everyone else. It could be that I just suppose it works for everyone else when, in fact, there is a step of which I am not aware – or my cellulite has a mind of its own and acts like fingers – because I ended up with a bunch of butt screen shots!

It all started at 11:48 a.m, as you can see, when I thought I had shut the screen off. Instead I somehow hit Google Play Store and found the Google earth App.

image

Then my smart phone shows me just how smart it is by taking a screenshot of it saving a screen shot. A smarta** phone is what it is…

image

 I’m not sure how to respond to this question:

image

 A minute later…

image

My phone and/or my butt must have been growing impatient with me to decide because it took another screenshot two minutes later:

image

And seconds later, my butt took another one:

image

They must be ganging up on me. Within that same minute, it took another one. Just for good measure, I suppose.  Smarta** phone.

image

What am I missing? Why can’t I be one of the cool kids?

Categories: Bad Decisions, Family, Humor, Vacation | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Why Turn Off Apps While on Vacation?

  1. Beckie

    🙂

What are your thoughts?

