Writing Challenge Day 14: 3 healthy habits

I’m going to assume that the inventor of this challenge wants to me to identify 3 healthy habits in which I partake and not to just list three healthy habits. That would be a waste of time.

3 healthy habits:
1. Diet.

I have tried for a long time to eat clean organic/gluten-free food, but it hasn’t been until recently that I bumped up my effort. I have recently become aware that I have a mild to severe reaction to grain products and some other hard to digest carbohydrates such as potatoes and legumes. I’ve known for about 15 years that I have a bad reaction to white wheat; however, it has been in the last 6 months that I realized that all grain, even rice and soy, cause an allergic-type reaction in my body. It doesn’t just happen in my stomach and my intestines. My body swells as if I had been stung by a bee (although I can still breathe). Since ridding my diet of 95% of the grain I was consuming, I have dropped a pant size; I have more energy; I can focus longer on one task; My memory is better,and I’m less gassy.  The transition wasn’t that difficult, as may be assumed. A few minor adjustments to the ingredients used, and I can eat almost everything I did before.

2. Exercise.

I’m not as consistent as I should be, but I do try to exercise three times a week. I have recently fallen in love with yoga, but I also love to run. I hate aerobics, Pilates, and Insanity.

3. Relaxing.

This is a must and is usually done by lying on the couch with my feet propped up on the back of the couch; however, I have found that yoga helps with distressing, too. I need at least an hour of down time before going to bed. If I don’t get time to relax and brush off the day, I carry to bed with me and it either keeps me awake or I have a fitful sleep.

What are your healthy habits?

Categories: Daily Writing Challenge, Exercise, Food | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What are your thoughts?

