Challenge Day 2: 20 Facts About Me

I don’t like giving facts about myself.  No matter what I write, I feel like I paint an incomplete picture and leave wide the doors of misinterpretation. Please feel free to ask questions. I’m an open book.

 

Twenty Things You Never Wanted To Know About Me

1. I am the youngest of 10 children.  I have four brothers and five sisters. I love them all.

2. I was raised Pentecostal by a Pentecostal Holiness father and a grace-giving mother. No, we didn’t dance around with snakes.

3. I lean toward liberal conservatism/conservative liberalism. My Christian friends think I’m liberal, and my non-Christian friends think I’m conservative.

4. A friend recently told me that I demand open-mindedness, and that I have very little patience for people who are closed-minded.

5. My favorite quote is from Aristotle: “It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.”

6. I love to learn. I dabble in a wide variety of disciplines; however, English literature and Composition and Rhetoric will always be my true loves.

7. I grew up in a very small, mid-western town. There are definite benefits and definite drawbacks to growing up/living in a rural area that, in my opinion, cannot be rightly compared to the benefits and drawback of growing up/living in an urban area.

8. I’ve never been to Europe, but have dreamt of traveling across Europe by train. A month is all I need.

9. I love to laugh. I also use laughter to break tension. I am a master at the ill-timed joke. That’s why I sit by myself at church.

10. I believe in learning something on vacation. I’m not against fun for fun’s sake, but I think if my family and I

photo credit: historicdenver.org

photo credit: historicdenver.org

are going to travel all over this beautiful nation of ours, we should come away with some knowledge about it, even if it is as seemingly insignificant as the Unsinkable Molly Brown (of Titanic fame) was never called Molly in her life, her Denver mansion by today’s standards is just a big house, and, by having small metal bowls to hold scented oil welded to the inside of the decorative fireplace screen, she is most likely the inventor of the warmed-oil air freshener.

11. I am a walking oxymoron. I am a considerate control freak, chaotic organizer, an idealist rational, messy clean freak, and lazy health nut. I am sure there are more.

12. A friend recently described me as “a soft and gooey center with a hard outer shell covered in armor with a wall build around for protection.” Seems about right.

13. I didn’t really learn to read until I was a sixth grader. They told my parents that I “didn’t apply myself.” I think it had something to do with my ADD. Regardless, I grew up thinking I was dumb. Imagine my surprise when, at 20, I found out that I wasn’t.

photo credit: stanton.net

photo credit: stanton.net

14. I grew up across the street from a Carnegie library.  Until I was a 5th or 6th grader, I was only allowed to check out books if one of my older sisters went with me.

15. Until I was able to check out books by myself, I would stand just inside the library doors, and for a few minutes with my eyes closed I’d breathe deeply, taking in the smell of the books. Then I’d leave without uttering a word to anyone.  I wonder now what the librarian thought of me: What a strange child that little Pinkston girl is. 

16. My entire family has dark brown hair. I secretly wanted to be one of the girls in ABBA, so that I’d be the only girl in the family to have long blonde hair. Maybe then everyone would stop calling me Beth (one of my older sisters).

17. One drawback to having 9 siblings is people I didn’t know would say, “Oh, aren’t you one of the Pinkston girls?”  Yes, I am, and please, for the love of everything good and holy, don’t call me Beth.

18. If Beth wasn’t my sister, we’d be best friends.

19. I cried when my parents sold our family home.

20. I cried again 20 years later when it was blown away by a Nebraska tornado.

That is kind of a bummer place to end. See what I mean about painting an incomplete picture?

Please feel free to browse the archives or ask questions for clarification or out of curiosity. I’m a curious cat myself.

Categories: Daily Writing Challenge, Family, Personal | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What are your thoughts?

