Influential Blogger Award

*This award was conferred almost a year ago. Apologies for taking so long to respond. No excuses. Just apologies.*

The title is actually Most Influential Blogger Award, but we all know that I’m not that. I’m not about to claim that I am the “most” at anything, but if I influenced you even in the slightest to laugh, think, question or write, I’m okay with that.

The nomination comes from Mouse of Girl in a Basemeninfluential-bloggert. She does all of those things I listed above and then some.

Mouse gave a sweeping nomination to all her followers, and although I’m not sure she’s even read my blog and the nomination isn’t exactly what one would call personal, I’m taking it anyway.  Like a free sample.

Rules: Answer the questions posed by the

Mouse’s Questions, My Answers

1. What is the dumbest thing you’ve ever encountered? It could be something somebody did or said, something you read, or even a stupid sign you’ve seen posted, just as some examples.  

I have encountered a lot of dumb things in my life. In fact, I write a blog about them. 😉

The dumbest thing I’ve seen recently is a video of a college freshman, at the urging of his fellow classmates, do a trust fall off of the roof of a shed into the ill-prepared arms of 6 – 8 of said classmates. Thank God (and I do mean that literally) he didn’t break his back when he hit the ground. Yes, I know these people personally. *sigh*

2. What kind of car would you drive, if money were no object?

Right now, I would choose a Ford Flex, mainly because I still have kids. If kids weren’t the issue and the car was just for little ol’ me, then a Mazda Miata of course. I wrote a poem once about driving a Miata when I’m old and gray. I may have to dig it up and post it. I think it also involved blowing Pepsi from my nose and whistling at young men.

3. What do you believe makes someone successful?

Doing what they love and loving what they’re doing. I’m not much into money.  I can be miserable no matter how much moolah I have. That’s not entirely true. I’m a pretty happy human being; however, I tend toward “grass is greener” thinking from time to time. I think that’s what gets my butt off the couch to get things done.

4. What’s the best Halloween costume you’ve ever donned or seen someone else don?

In my hometown in Northeast Nebraska, the Jaycee’s throw a  Costume Party for Halloween. One couple showed up as a hot dog and bun. She was the hot dog and he was the bun. She fit perfectly inside him, which now that I type that, sounds kinda gross. But it really was funny.

5. Do you like sitting right in front of the screen at a movie theater, or in the very back?

Neither. I like to sit smack dab in the middle of the theater with my huge bucket of popcorn and my smuggled-in bottle of Coke and 3 pound bag of Twizzlers.

6. What’s the most vivid dream you’ve ever had?

This is a hard one because I’ve had vivid dreams (my mother called them nightmares) in which I wake screaming, yelling, or in front of the refrigeration all my life.

When I was in the third grade, I dreamed that I opened my lunch box at the foot of my bed and snakes poured out. The kept coming out until they filled my room almost to the top of the bed. Some of them began slithering up my blankets and I started screaming for my mother. I woke balled up against my headboard with my mother wrapped around me stroking my hair gently telling me to wake, my pajamas and hair wet with sweat.

7. What do you believe in?

I believe Jesus Christ and seek to follow Him daily.  (For more of an explanation click here.)  I believe in learning something new everyday, even if it is something small or painful.  I believe we owe it to the everyone to be the best person we can be. You never know who you will influence.

Normally, the nominees would be asked to answer questions that I then pose, but as some of the influential bloggers are professional bloggers, I will just offer their links and leave it to you to check them out.

And the nominees are….

101 Books 

The Bookshelf of Emily J. 

Leanne Cole Photography

Morning Story and Dilbert

Aging Inappropriately 

Not a Day Over 45

Thanks you to the above bloggers for their inspiration and influence on me and so many other bloggers.

Categories: Awards, Personal, Recommendations | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Influential Blogger Award

  1. Congratulations on your award and thank you so much for nominating me. I don’t really do awards, but I have added a link to you with the award on my awards page.

What are your thoughts?

