2013 in review

So here it is, 2014.  I remember celebrating the New Year in 1985 and thinking, “Wow, it feels like 1982.” I was a senior in high school in ’85 and finally felt like I could make it in high school.

It takes me a little longer than most to build confidence, but I get there eventually.

When I started blogging in September 2011, I was far from confident that I could generate any type of following, but I did.  I have my 2013 New Year’s resolution – to be better – and family, friends and some awesome fellow bloggers to thank for that.

Was I better in all things? No, not at all, but I made progress in many areas:

  • Health – getting a better grip on my hypothyroidism and Hoshimoto’s decease.  With diet, exercise, and a vitamin regimen of athletic champions I am feeling tremendously better. 😉
  • Driving – I almost made it all year without getting a speeding ticket. Blast you Perry, GA!  Even with that one ticket, I still finished 2013 better than 2012. One more year doing “better” and I’m no longer considered high risk. Whew!
  • Parenting – I took a huge step into the completely uncomfortable and decided to homeschool F and Z this year.  I am not saying in the least that homeschooling makes me a better mother, because I don’t believe that it does; however, it has provided the time needed to uncover deeper causes of some troubling issues.  I am confident that with the information gained I can be a better parent.  I’m just not convinced the discovery is weighty enough to balance the intellectual and emotional scarring they’ve experienced by having me as their teacher.   Only time will tell.
  • WalMart – I didn’t step foot into a WalMart store for all of 2013, and I am a much better person for it! Not to mention my pocketbook is much happier, too.
  • Work – Continuing to tutor homeschooled students in various levels of high school English, I’ve also taken an adjunt English instructor position with an area community college.  I’m not sure how I’m going to juggle all of it, but I’m pretty sure Adderall will be a key player.
  • Financial – In July, I started listening to David Ramsey’s Financial Freedom seminars through Gateway and reading his blog.  I have my budget, my cash, and my plan.  One small credit card paid off, car to be paid off by March, and the first of two big credit cards to be paid by the end of 2014.  You may not understand the magnitude of this step in the better direction. It’s *hands spread shoulder-width apart, fingers spread and bent as if to catch a basketball, and with a deep voice say…* BETTER!

I didn’t do so hot with my reading list or my writing, but I’m not going to allow those two perceived failures to squelch the contentment I feel.  Something has to give, right? Seriously, if I had to choose between spending countless hours completing my book list or spending countless hours discovering what is troubling my child, I am obviously going to spend those hours on my child. Although, it would have been a lot less painful reading the books.   😉

On the lighter side of things, “the WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for” me, and I’m quite happy with it.  My blog stats are better than last years (largely in part to gaining new readers, so thank you new readers of my blog for making my year successful), so I’m feeling good, my friends.  Feeling good, indeed.

Here’s an excerpt:

A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,400 times in 2013. If it were a cable car, it would take about 40 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report. It’s worth a look. I especially liked the map of the world. I can’t believe people in India read my writing!

So what’s my resolution for 2014?  Is it a cop out to keep the same resolution – to be better?

As I said last year, “I don’t have to beat myself up by not making big enough strides […], because in reality, the goal [to become the best person I can be] is unattainable; however, I can be better. And if I don’t consult the devilish stick that measures me against other people and stick to one simple question – Am I better than I was? – then I can do it.”

I like being better.

How about you?  What is your 2014 resolution?

Categories: Education, Family, Holidays, Parenting, Personal, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “2013 in review

  1. My 2014 resolution? Muster up more willpower while trying to keep calm and optimistic, so that I can do what I must do better!

What are your thoughts?

