Don’t Quit!

One of my goals for 2013 is to find where my great-great grandfather was born and who his parents were.  Although my dad searched for this information for well beyond 20 years, he never found it.  I took up the search about 15 years ago and haven’t found the information either.  I have found some juicy tidbits that led my kids and me on an adventure last spring, but I still haven’t found my great-great-great grandparents.

Last week, I took up the search again. As I was rummaging through my files, I happened across a copy of this poem that was tucked away in my dad’s stuff.

DON’T QUIT

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will

When the road you are trudging seems all up hill;

When the funds are low and the debts are high

And you want to smile, but you have to sigh;

When care is pressing you down a bit,

Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.

Success is failure turned inside out;

The silver tint of the clouds of doubt.

And you can never tell how close you are

It may be near when it seems afar;

So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit —

It’s when things seem worst that you mustn’t quit.

I’m sure he didn’t pen this little ditty because it’s all over the internet, and I’m not really sure why it was in his belongings. He never quoted it to us or carried it with him.  It does speak of his attitude though. My dad didn’t quit, except for high school.

This post really isn’t about my father, either. I just wanted to share this little piece of encouragement (no matter its sappiness).

Have a happy Monday and remember, “you never know how close you are.”

Categories: Family, Parenting, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What are your thoughts?

