Random Thoughts Friday #19

Random Thoughts

1. Don’t sell your future for a can of soup, even if you’re starving.

2. Charles Manson was once at Boys Town. I worked there shortly after graduating college. I feel a story coming on: My Week With Manson.

3. It’s more fun putting the Christmas tree up than it is taking it down.

4. I’m considering the avenue of self-publishing, and have read about the pros/cons of and the attitude shift concerning self-publishing within the writing community. I am not deeply impressed with the self-published novels/books I’ve read. Any thoughts?

5. Right now, operating in the mundane is okay.

6. Being better is harder than it seems.

7. I suppose it’s everyone’s right to declare ignorance again and again. It’s just a real pain for those of us who have to deal with those declaring their right.

8. Have a plan, people! Have a plan!

9. Commercial: “I read the whole 900 pages. It literally took me weeks.” Weeks? I read all 743 pages of Wally Lamb’s The Hour I First Believed in, literally, months. There’s nothing better than being made to feel like a failure by H&R Block.

Categories: Random Thought Friday, Writing | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Random Thoughts Friday #19

  1. What profound random thoughts. I’m still contemplating…

  2. I can’t wait to read about your week with Charles Manson! lol. I agree. I LOATHE taking the Christmas tree down. The fact that I do it while watching the Rose Bowl Parade makes it a bit more bearable. In your defense, “The Hour I First Believed” was not a page-turner. And I never know whether I want to punch or hug the H&R Block lady. I want to punch her for bragging. But, then again, she must have a very sad life if she had nothing better to do with her time than read 900 pages of tax rules.

    • I can’t imagine the new tax code being any more of a page-turner than Lamb’s “Believed,” so I suppose the Block lady deserves a hug for plugging through. Lamb’s story doesn’t start until 3/4 of the way into the book when his tenants find all the files. He could have skipped the Columbine years completely (it didn’t really inform the novel, except to add tention between the main character and his wife. But that could have been achieved some other way) and still achieved the same affect. But who am I? I’ve never completed a novel!

What are your thoughts?

