Daisy Nomination!

Two weeks ago I received two Daisy nominations.  All I have to say is…

And how great is it that John Malkovich’s cute mug is at the beginning of that video.  That’s just icing, baby!

Seriously, I am humbled by the nominations and grateful that people take time out of their day to read my ramblings.

There are a few rules that I must follow, and you all know how much I like to follow rules.

  • Thank the person(s) who nominated you
  • Tell your readers 7 unusual things about yourself
  • Nominate some worthy bloggers

Thank the person(s):

A deep and heartfelt thank you to facelikeafryingpan and wedelmom for giving me recognition I am not so sure I deserve.    You two are too sweet.  😉

7 unusual things about myself:

Here goes.

1. I am the youngest of 10 children.  Well, we aren’t children any more. We’re more like … old.  I am the youngest of 10 old people.

2. I kill plants.

3. Thanksgiving is my most favorite holiday of the year.  I think it tops Christmas, which is odd for a Christian to say it being the day of our Savior’s birth and all.  Christmas was always a reminder to me that my brothers and sisters were leaving – each year there were less and less of them to open presents with on Christmas morning.  But everyone came home for Thanksgiving!

4. My right leg is shorter than my left leg by 1/8th of an inch.  Doesn’t sound like much, but it’s enough to completely throw off my bodies alignment to the point of excruciating back pain.  Now there’s a jolly thought for ya!

5. My first language was sarcasm.  No, really, it was.  I offended people left and right because I didn’t know that I was sarcastic and hurting people’s feelings.  It wasn’t until I was 24 and visiting my boyfriends family over Christmas that I realized that other families are actually nice to one another.  Hmmmmm… so “moron” isn’t a term of endearment?

6. You either like me or you don’t. Which, I guess, is not that unusual when you think about it.

7. I hate (and I really mean hate with every ounce of my being) to bake.

Nominations:

I tracked down the origins of this Daisy Award and found that subtlekate started this lovely award for the brave: “I would like to start a new award. It’s called the Daisy Award.  Daisy’s are very sweet flowers, but they are stealth with hardiness. They’ll come up anywhere and beat the frost.  This award is for the brave.”

These are the brave and worthy bloggers whom I nominate:

Aging Appropriately: Starting her blog on the cusp of her 50th birthday, Elizabeth is not afraid to tell it like it is and tackles the aging process “with utmost disrespect and often vile humor.”  She’s a riot!

Monica’s Pen: I have followed Monica for only a week, but I thoroughly enjoy her blog.  It is homey and humorous, like eating pie and ice cream at a family reunion.

A Room of One’s Own: Jillian started her blog for herself, as a means to record her thoughts, her feelings and her inspirations about the Classical literature she is reading.  As a literature person myself, I enjoy reading about the deep feelings that stirred within her and the keen insights she so aptly shares with her readers.  She is wonderfully brave.

The Way Everlasting:   J.S. Park, the atheist pastor, writes this no-holds-barred blog.  Why is he brave?  Read his blog and find out. Whew!

Lea & Jay: Lea and Jay write a food blog.  Anyone who is willing to make food, take pictures of it, post it on the web for all to see and want others to try it, is brave!  The food is, of course, as delicious as the photos.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Daisy Nomination!

  1. Jillian ♣

    I love your #1. 😉 Thanks so much for the kind words, Sarah!

  2. So fun to read how someone else describes my blog. Thanks! And thanks for the nomination, too. I’ll try to adhere to the rules as soon as I get a free minute. 😉

  3. Wow, my award is getting around. That is so fantastic 🙂

What are your thoughts?

